Thank You for Your Service

Following the elections a number of familiar faces will be retiring or standing down from the Town Council.   Long standing members Cynthia Hawksley and Elaine Channon have retired.

As a result of the elections we say farewell to Past Mayor and Councillor for over 33 years, John Gareth Jones (pictured).

Also leaving the Council are Alan Davis, Margaret Chamberlain, Amanda Woof and Chris Stokes.

The Town Mayor Councillor Paul Milner said

"We are always sorry to see experienced and popular members leave after wonderful and loyal service. That is politics and we all accept that change can occur every 4 years. Each departing Councillor has made huge and valued contributions and dedicated much time to working on behalf of the town and their ward electorate. In the case of John Gareth Jones I cannot praise enough, and therefore wish to record our thanks for his huge contribution to the life of the town, and the council itself. He has represented the Council far and wide, been Mayor on 3 occasions, and helped the Council secure the Service Level agreement with the National Association of British Market Authorities that has brought over £300,000 to the Council in the last decade. He was also the first President of NABMA to be appointed from a Town Council. Although he leaves the Council I know he will still continue with his voluntary work with the elderly."

Monday 8 May 2017

To top

Do you wish to discuss this article with the council?

If you wish to discuss this article with the council or simply share your views about the article's content, then please contact us.

Oswestry Town Council,
The Guildhall,
SY11 1PZ

Tel: 01691 680222
Fax: 01691 671080
E-mail: enquiries(at)

Twitter: @OswestryTC
Join us on Facebook